Sidecar Doughnuts (Santa Monica)

I admit, I’m not really a doughnut person. Part of that is I’m allergic to yeast so that cuts out all raised doughnuts from my diet. Let me be more exact — I like doughnuts, but I don’t generally seek them out the way I do, say, coffee.

Screen Shot 2016-05-28 at 11.35.32 AM

However, in the past six months a place called Sidecar Doughnuts Santa Monica, at 631 Wilshire Blvd. opened a few blocks from my apartment that is apparently famous throughout Orange County for its doughnuts. Okay, said I, reading the online Yelp reviews about the amazing doughnuts and insane lines. But then the reviews started mentioning Sidecar’s coffee.  Suddenly I had to visit!

My first visit was impressive. I can easily imagine a child being fascinated by the place because there’s basically a glass wall where you can watch as they make and frost the doughnuts. The place has a tiled and very clean feel and smells like melting sugar. The doughnuts are displayed behind the glass wall. When it’s your turn, you tell the person taking your order which you want. I chose the “cinnamon crumb” because it was a non-raised doughnut and I love cinnamon. Take a peek at their website, all their doughnuts look pretty amazing.

When I got to the register, I also ordered a latte.  The menu told me they brew / serve Stumptown, a local LA roaster so my expectations were high. They made it pretty quickly. I noticed while I was waiting that they have pottery cups, but I hadn’t asked for one so they made my latte in a paper cup to go, with a lovely little bit of foam art. Total for a doughnut and latte came to about $8. My expectations were suddenly quite high.

I sad at one of the communal tables outside to eat and drink my afternoon treat. First, the reviews were right, the doughnut was amazing. Sweet, spicy with cinnamon and still warm from being fried, I could definitely see what the fuss was about. The latte? Well, it was definitely good coffee. However, because the doughnut is so sweet, I think they could serve something stronger and more acidic.

So next time, and their will be a next time, I’m going to try one of their “butter salt” doughnuts with an Americano or espresso.

 

Leave a Reply

