Bricks and Scones (Larchmont)

Today I ventured out of Santa Monica for my coffee. I went to Bricks and Scones at 403 N. Larchmont Blvd. It was a post-dental appointment coffee, so I was especially in need of caffeine.

In some ways, Bricks and Scones is a perfect little gem. They make lovely scones, have a very mellow atmosphere and are set up with tables and outlets for work, with little private nooks to read and write. They also have wifi, which I didn’t use on this visit, but has been very usable in the past. Bricks and Scones doesn’t have parking, but there is metered street parking on Larchmont and  two hour street parking on the surrounding side streets.

I got a little table and set up my space to read. The cream cheese scone I got was delicious, but I couldn’t seem to settle into the coffee — definitely a Goldilocks sort of thing.  It was hot, but not quite hot enough. A bit bitter, but the sugar didn’t seem to do much.  Yet as I settled into my reading, I found the atmosphere perfect for working.  Definitely a place for cafe writing.

Upstairs they have a space especially set aside for working called “The Study” where talking is not allowed. I like that rather than limit people who come to Bricks and Scones to work, the owner seems to embrace us.

Screen Shot 2016-06-02 at 12.39.17 PM

 

Leave a Reply

